Awards Season Begins with SocDoc Nominations & Sundance Grantees

December 02, 2016
Awards Season Begins with SocDoc Nominations & Sundance Grantees

Kirsten Johnson (SocDoc camera faculty) is having a well-deserved year in the spotlight. Her groundbreaking feature-length documentary, Cameraperson (pictured), is among the 5 films nominated for “Best Documentary” of 2016 IFP Gotham Awards. Cameraperson also picked up four nominations from Cinema Eye Honors, including, “Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking,” “Outstanding Achievement in Direction,” “Outstanding Editing” by Nels Bagerter, “Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography.” Cinema Eye also listed Cameraperson as one the year’s most notable and significant non-fiction film subjects. We’re rooting for you, KJ!

Cameraperson is also nominated for this year’s IDA Documentary Awards’ “Best Feature Award” and “Best Editing” within the Creative Recognition Award. The Above, produced and directed by Kirsten in association with Field of Vision, is also nominated for “Best Short Award.” Winners will be announced December 9th. Also at the IDA Awards, Amy Nicholson’s Pickle is nominated for “Best Short”; the doc is filmed by Jerry Risius (camera faculty) and has had an extensive festival run around the world.

The inaugural Critics’ Choice Documentary Awards, taking place next month at a first-time gala event in Brooklyn, New York. Cameraperson is nominated for “Best Documentary Feature,” “Best Direction”, “Most Innovative Documentary,” and “Most Compelling Living Subject.” In addition, Life, Animated is nominated for “Best Documentary Feature,” “Best Direction” and “Most Innovative Documentary”; Richard Hankin (SocDoc Directing faculty) is a consulting editor for the film. And, Soundbreaking: Stories from the Cutting Edge of Recorded Music is nominated for Best Limited Series; the show is directed & executive produced by SocDoc Chair Maro Chermayeff, edited by E. Donna Shepherd and Sam Pollard, and produced by Amy Schewel – all SocDoc faculty.

And lastly, Cameraperson has been nominated for “Best Documentary” by the Film Independent Spirit Awards, and has received the Freedom of Expression Award from the National Board Review. Congrats, KJ!

And Congratulations to all nominees!

Sundance Fund Grantees and Art of Non-Fiction Fellows Awards
The Sundance Institute has awarded over a $1 million to documentary projects and individual artists for the coming year and several SocDoc-ers are among the grantees. Ruth Litoff’s 32 Pills: My Sister’s Suicide, received a post-production grant to push it to the finish line. This film’s team includes producer Beth Levison and editor Toby Shimin (both SocDoc  faculty).  Mudflow, directed by Cynthia Wade and Sasha Friedlander (SocDoc alumnus), also received finishing funds from this year’s grant pool. Lastly, Kirsten Johnson is now in her second year of her “Art of Nonfiction Fellowship” at the Sundance Institute.